Ronald Rice’s My Bookstore-Writers Celebrate Their Favorite Places to Browse, Read, and Shop

I received this book for the purpose of a fair and honest review.

Overview: With commercial giants like Barnes and Noble, or online monoliths like Amazon, is there still a market for the community, independently owned bookstores? According to the essays in this books, they sure do. Let’s follow these authors on a cross-country journey to some of their favorite bookstores.

Story Telling: This is a book of essays, but don’t let that put you off. Where else will you find an essay in the form of a comic strip?

Dislikes: The only problem I had was that a few authors allowed politics to, well, envelop every aspect of their lives, or at least it seemed that way. But, outside of God and family, I don’t think that anything should envelop your life to this extent.

Likes: It’s refreshing to hear that neither the printed books nor the bookstores are doomed. That is just hopeful for those dreaming of seeing their books in print.

Favorite Quote: Here’s a good one. “I write because I have to, because when I don’t, I feel as if I’m losing my sense of self.

Favorite Essay: Those would be the ones written by Kristen Harmel, Carolyn Hart, and the joint essays by Daniel Handler and Lisa Brown, and Wendell and Florence Minor.

Conclusion: This is a great book for the aspiring writer to read. And enjoy it even if you are one of those who enjoy the company of loaded bookshelves.

Leave a Reply

