Jacob M. Appel’s Einstein’s Beach House

I received this book courtesy of Mr. Appel for the purpose of a fair and honest review.

Overview: It’s time for another short story collection. I always seem to find room for those, kind of like Jell-o. Well, Mr. Appel is seeking to challenge modern ethics with humor. Let’s just see how well he did.

Story Telling: Well, we have eight stories here, some just happen to be longer than others.

Likes: ‘Sharing the Hostage’ was okay. And some of the characters in the other stories were decent, like Saul Neerman.

Dislikes: “La Tritesse Des Herissons” and “Einstein’s Beach House” were pretty bad. Also, most of the stories left me feeling empty.

Favorite Character: I’d have to go with Saul Neerman.

Favorite Quote or Story: There isn’t one this time around.

Conclusion: I’ve mentioned before that as long as there was hope, then I could handle any story. Whether it was the ethics, or the humor: this one wasn’t for me. I do have an odd sense of humor, so it may just be a matter of tastes. You might want to give it a try. Now, don’t mind me while I hide away with Tolkien and Koontz to re-fill the hope meter.

Leave a Reply

